G8. Three modes of the Magnocraft's operation
© Dr. Eng. Jan Pająk

G8. Three modes of the Magnocraft's operation

The Magnocraft's magnetic field can be in one of three different states. These are: (1) whirling, (2) throbbing, and (3) constant. Thus depending on the state this field takes, the
Magnocraft can operate in one of three possible modes. The subsection that follows describes each of these modes and explains their properties and capabilities.
The state of the Magnocraft's field while a magnetic whirl is being produced is called in this monograph the "magnetic whirl mode of operation". The characteristic attribute of this mode is that the side propulsors of the vehicle produce a pulsating magnetic field with a strictly controlled mutual phase shift equal to exactly 90 degrees. A different mode, when the side propulsors of the Magnocraft still produce a pulsating magnetic field but eliminate their mutual phase shift, is called here a "throbbing mode". In the throbbing mode of operation the magnetic whirl is not produced at all. But the field shrinks and expands in a manner similar to the beating of the heart. The pulsating output from the propulsors of the Magnocraft can also be changed into a constant (i.e. non-pulsating) one. In such a case the vehicle's propulsion operates in a "magnetic lens mode". Notice that the Magnocraft's crew may smoothly transform any one of these modes into any other mode. Also, because the parameters of the produced field in this vehicle can be smoothly controlled, there are very flexible possibilities for passing from one mode to any other, when any intensity for each of these modes can be achieved.
The most frequently used mode of operation is the magnetic whirl mode. This is because the spinning magnetic field provides the Magnocraft with the latitudinal component of the thrust force, i.e. the component which acts in an east-west or west-east direction. It is necessary to combine this latitudinal component with the meridional component (formed by slanting the propulsors - see subsection G6.2) in order to achieve flights in any other direction except that of precisely meridional ones. (Meridional flights are those which exactly follow the magnetic north-south or south-north direction.) Of course the intensity of the produced magnetic whirl varies depending on the direction of flight and is the strongest for precisely latitudinal flights and decreases gradually when the direction of flight becomes closer to being meridional. For precisely meridional flights the magnetic whirl must be extinguished completely.
The throbbing mode of operation has a rather limited use. This is because the throbbing mode allows only for vertical and strictly meridional flights. But it provides the crew with perfect visibility of the vehicle's surroundings. Therefore it is mainly used for observational purposes or for leisure. Also, as it causes the least damage to the environment, it is particularly useful for landing and for take off.
For landings in especially protected environments, a special, safer version of the throbbing mode is introduced. This special version is called here the "four-circuits" mode of operation, or three-circuit mode of operation. The four-circuit mode of operation can be switched on in all types of the Magnocraft. In turn the three-circuit mode of operation can be switched on in only these types of Magnocraft, whose number of side propulsors "n" is divisible by 3 (means in Magnocraft types K4, K7, and K10.) Because in the sense of principle of formation both these modes (i.e. four-circuit and three-circuit) are almost identical, their presentation will be done on an example of the four-circuit mode.
In the four-circuits mode of operation, independently of the type of Magnocraft, only four of its side propulsors are left operational, whereas the output from the rest of them is completely extinguished (see Figure G24). Practically this means that the vehicle forms only four main magnetic circuits, which affect the environment to a much smaller extent than would be the case when the circuits of all the "n" side propulsors are active (see subsection G11). Of course, the four-circuits mode limits significantly the operational abilities of the Magnocraft therefore it is used almost exclusively for the purposes of landing and take off (i.e. to minimise the damage).
It is worth to mention, that the magnetic whirl mode of operation, as well as the magnetic lens mode, both also allow to switch on their three- or four-circuit versions. However, the justification for such switching on will appear rather rarely. An example of such cases could be to make “paintings” in crops, means to paint with propulsors various geometrical figures in crops, such as squares, rectangles, triangles, etc. For details see appropriate descriptions in subsection VB4.3.1 /?/ of this monograph.
The magnetic lens mode of operation, similarly to the throbbing mode, also has limited use as it only allows for strictly meridional and vertical flights. Moreover, it makes it impossible for the crew to observe the environment visually and requires all observations to be conducted with instruments. But because this mode makes the Magnocraft invisible, it can be used in all those cases when the crew does not wish to be noticed (e.g. in all spying and military missions, for the observation of the uninterrupted behaviour of people, or during visits to planets with hostile civilizations).

=> G8.1.
Antworten to top

Gehe zu:

Benutzer, die gerade dieses Thema anschauen: 1 Gast/Gäste